Yes I’m still all ranty.

Constant use will not wear ragged the fabric of friendship.”- Dorothy Parker

So I actually started to write this post last night while I was angry. I decided not to because, well, I try not to write about people in my life when I’m all ragefaced. Not that it would really really matter; the people I need to talk about don’t read this blog. Still…

Let me just say I love all of my friends, really I do. Definitely the most important people in my life. They are funny, intelligent, beautiful, and amazing people. When I say they save my life I don’t mean that in some teen-angst filled hormone way. I sincerely mean that they are the reason I fight this bullshit every day. They are the reason I don’t take my easy out.

Sometimes, holy shit I’d like to strangle them. This time the best friends are fighting with each other. Actually better said they aren’t fighting with each other. Nooooo they are being passive-aggressive, not paying money owed, and doing things to piss off the other. And of course, they are calling me to talk about it. Which, I’m actually fine to be their sounding board because I know they listen to me when I vent.

Last night and the majority of the day I was furious. I was upset at what they were doing to each other, furious that neither were taking real steps to fix it, and annoyed that some of the things that continually get brought up have been issues for over a year. The selfish part of me was thinking about how I’ve been taking care of 3 adults with little to no help and they have the audacity to whine about who isn’t taking the garbage out or doing the dishes. Thankfully, the selfish part of me shuts up fairly quickly.

Tonight I talked to both of them again. Now I’m not angry; I’m worried and sad. Both have understandable reasons to do what they do. Actually no… both have understandable reasons to be upset. I just don’t think they realize how easy it would be to let the grievances to build up. I don’t think they see how much they’ve already changed when it comes to the other person. They are gonna explode on each other and I really feel that they are gonna cause permanent damage to their friendship. I also know them both and it’s something they would always regret.

I mean I know this doesn’t have anything directly to do with me. If they do continue to be bull-headed and do screw-up, I could easily be friends with them without the other. I don’t think they would want me to pick sides or anything like that. That selfish part of me, though? I don’t want to have to do that. I like when it is the 3 of us doing things. I like the trio. For awhile we even talked about getting sorta matching tattoos. (Don’t judge me.) Also? I don’t like change and this would totally harsh my mellow.

I don’t know. I want to help them fix this thing, but have no idea how. I suppose I could always lock them in a room together. Any time they weren’t talking, not addressing the issues, or saying things extremely hurtful to get a rise out of the other I could blast Miley Cyrus. …. Yup, that is going on the mental shelf of possibilities.

~ by Last Night Here on December 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
