No Mr. Bond, I expect you to die.

Day 7 – Least favorite plot device employed by way too many books you actually enjoyed otherwise

I actually don’t mind plot devices. I think I’m more of a big picture kinda person, and really don’t notice the cliches. At the very least, I notice it more in movies than I do in novels.

Though there is one that is a slap in the face every time I read it. Well I guess since I’m going to kill you and you’ll never see my brilliant plan in action, I should tell you every detail… Yeah I absolutely hate that. You know the second you read it the person won’t die and they’ll have an extreme advantage. Booo, I say.

Actually, I hate an info dump through a monologue period. Here is unsolicited advice to all writers. Most of your readers can keep up. Some are even quite clever. We don’t need it shoved in our faces.

~ by Last Night Here on November 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
