Five points from Gryffindor.

“I don’t expect you will really understand the beauty of the softly simmering cauldron with its shimmering fumes, the delicate power of liquids that creep through human veins, bewitching the mind, ensnaring the senses… I can teach you how to bottle fame, brew glory, even stopper death—if you aren’t as big a bunch of dunderheads as I usually have to teach.” -Severus Snape, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Day 6 – Favorite book of your favorite series OR your favorite book of all time

In case the title and the quote didn’t clue you in, it’s time for my obligatory Harry Potter post. I skimmed over it a bit on Day 1, but didn’t give it nearly the attention it deserves.

Though, asking me to choose my favorite is like asking a mother which is her favorite child. Yes I’m aware that’s probably an unhealthy attitude to have about fiction. Yes I’m ok with that. I love them all deeply for a number of reasons.

That said, Severus Snape is my favorite character. From the moment I read the quote *points up* I fell in love with him. I won’t even lie, when the movies came out Alan Rickman helped this. Because of all the awesome that is Snape, I’m proclaiming my favorite book Deathly Hallows. Yes the redemption pushed it over the edge. In fact the whole chapter, The Prince’s Tale, is my favorite chapter. Because it not only shows us Snape as a kid, but we get a Hogwarts flashback from his point of view.

Moving on to the other Harry. I do have a favorite in the Dresden Files series; Dead Beat. This book has close to everything you need. A zombie dinosaur with ectoplasmic skin. Actually not just any dino… It has Sue the Tyrannosaurus Rex from Chicago’s Field Museum of Natural History.
It also has The Wild Hunt. The Wild Hunt is… well, a hunt and a group of hunters. They tend to be a hodge podge. Anything from ghost to faeries of supernatural creatures can be found in the hunt. If you need to up the awesomeness to this story… you obviously need a break from awesome things.

~ by Last Night Here on November 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “Five points from Gryffindor.”

  1. I am definitely a Harry Potter fan, but I have not yet finished the last book. Can you believe it? Years later, and I cannot let myself read the last chapter for fear of the story end. Not that I fear the outcome, but the disappointment of not being able to look forward to another book. Crazy, I know. (At least, that’s what my sister says!) But it’s me. However I will say that my favorite movie is probably Goblet of Fire. I love the imagination and the animation that was in this particular installment. There was a lot of Eye Candy and I loved it!

    • Oh whoops. I hope my vague posts didn’t spoil you in any way. 😦 I completely understand not wanting it to end. I’m struggling with there only being two movies left. That said I’m in love with MarkReadsHarryPotter because he did a chapter by chapter review and it was sort of like reading it for the first time when you see his reactions.

Leave a Reply

 
