Day 5 and I’ve already run out of titles

“A critic can only review the book he has read, not the one which the writer wrote.”- Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook, 1960

 

Today’s topic is a book or series you hate. Do people really hate books though? Don’t get me wrong, I use the word hate when describing books or stories. Now I’m wondering is it really a hate. There are books that make me feel like the paper it’s printed on is worth more than the story. There are books that I just don’t get why people enjoy them, and there are books that I feel sorry anyone had to read the atrocity. Some fall into all 3 categories *coughtwilightcough*, but I don’t know that I actually really hate any of them.

Except, maybe Twilight. Ok, sorry. I told myself that I would quit bashing on the unfortunate series. It’s just so easy. Since you all have read my rantings on the subject several times, I won’t bash it again…. at least tonight.

I think that the most frustrating book is the one that falls just short. I can’t count the number of times I picked up a book that has a brilliant idea -an idea that inspires me just by reading the synopsis- and then just doesn’t deliver.

The first one that springs to mind is Eleanor Rigby by Douglas Coupland. I’ll preface my explanation by saying this isn’t a bad book.  I simply wanted more from it. Much like the song the book in the end is about loneliness. But that’s where my problem comes in. I don’t feel the loneliness, or any other emotion for that matter. It was a good story, interesting turns, a good ending. I hate happy endings for the sake of them (or as Des calls them Disney endings), and while I can’t give away the ending I can tell you it didn’t fall into that trap.  At the end though it didn’t move me in anyway. I couldn’t care less about the characters. I didn’t believe anything that they felt. That completely ruined the book for me.

There are several other books that fall into the same category as Eleanor Rigby. Despite the fact that they are well written, they just don’t make the grade because of one flaw or another.  Those tend to disappoint me the most. It’s obvious the author has talent (I actually enjoy several of Douglas Coupland’s other novels) and great ideas. So, I should enjoy their work, but I just can’t.

 

~ by Last Night Here on November 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
