A year in books.

Day 03 – The best book you’ve read in the last 12 months

” ‘Tell me what you read and I’ll tell you who you are’ is true enough, but I’d know you better if you told me what you reread.”  -François Mauriac

With the exception of tomorrow this is the hardest day for me to answer. The main reason is because the last read and enjoyed book is always the best book I’ve read (in a certain time frame). It is the most fresh in my mind so I remember the subtle things that can take a story from good to fan-fucking-tastic.

My next excuse for not having a flat out answer? I’ve been in a major reread phase. I decided it was time to prune my bookshelf. So, anything that was on the maybe pile had to be evaluated.Then I read along with MarkReadsHarryPotter. When I read Changes I had to go back and reread the Dresden Files.

In the past year I’ve probably only read a half dozen “new” books. The Iron King, Changes, Quantum Physics: A Beginners Guide, Quantum Physics and Theology: An Unexpected Kinship, Life’s That Way: A Memoir, and Devil’s Kiss.

Out of those six I’d have to say it’s a tie. Changes by Jim Butcher and Life’s That Way by Jim Beaver. Jim Beaver’s memoir really spoke to me. The first half is learning and dealing with his wife’s cancer diagnosis and daughter’s autism. Having to deal with being a caretaker to my family. Two of which dealing with chemotherapy… Yeah this book helped in dark moments. Changes on the other hand I can’t really talk about. One of the people who read this blog hasn’t read it yet. So I’ll just say, Dude it’s the Dresden Files, of course it made the list.

Now it is your turn. Leave me a comment and tell me the best book you’ve read lately and why I should read it. Or, just tell me books that I need to read. If it isn’t obvious I need more books to read.

~ by Last Night Here on November 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
