I demand you read these.

Day 2 – A book or series you wish more people were reading and talking about.

I have two series suggestions today. One is slightly more popular than the other, but I love them both. Not to mention, I need more than two people to talk with about the books.

Let’s start with the more recognizable one. The Dresden Files. Des once described it as what would have happened if Harry Potter grew up and moved to Chicago.  (Remember we pretend the epilogue didn’t happen in my world.) Pretty much this series is awesome boiled down to a dangerously concentrated level and splashed on paper. Harry Dresden is a wizard and a P.I. and then crazy shit happens and he makes it all better. Or if not better well… that would be spoilers. As the title of this post says I demand you read it. I’ll even throw in a link to steer you in the right direction. Check it out here.

The second series is more unknown but just as amazing. The Nightside Series by Simon R. Green is definitely the one I wish more people knew about *pointed look at Des*. This one starts of with a private investigator too. He may not be a wizard but he definitely has abilities. The series takes place in a hidden city under London… or in London (depends who you ask) called The Nightside. It’s always 3am in the Nightside. When better for disturbing things to happen? If that wasn’t enough there are tons of pop culture references in this series. There is even one about a special Doctor (I may have mentioned him on this blog a time or two). So it’s always fun to see which ones you can catch. So once again I demand that you go pick out this series. Here is the link to the author’s website.

~ by Last Night Here on November 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
