Fall, fall, fall

Reading: The Myths and Legends of Ireland
Watching: Food Network… though I’m not really watching I just have it on for background noise
Quote: “Bittersweet October.  The mellow, messy, leaf-kicking, perfect pause between the opposing miseries of summer and winter.”- Carol Bishop Hipps

Ah this is the post where I wax poetic about fall.

……

Oh! … Wait, no…

Um…..

Fine I don’t wax poetic; not even when I want to. Seriously though. It’s not like I have a laundry list of things that I like and that I dislike. So let me try to explain why I really am I fall person in another way.

As far back as I can remember I’ve always been a person that likes spooky things. Or rather, things that everyone else considered spooky. I was fascinated with fairy tales. Not the princesses but the witches and wizards and what could possibly motivate them to do the things they did. Where did they get their power from? How come the “heroes” didn’t learn magic too then? The first movie I remember watching was The Lost Boys and it remains a favorite of mine. Even music had a spooky influence for me. Though I don’t remember this I was told by both my parents that I was an Alice Cooper freak.

Of course as I grew up I still stayed with horror. I read every horror book I could find, had marathons of movies. I spent spring breaks in nowhere VA. One friend went to civil war battle grounds while I spent hours upon hours in old graveyards or in the tour guided museums (I particularly love old apothecary museums with gruesome histories.)

While I don’t know why I gravitate towards these things, (Besides the fact that they rock my face off.) I enjoyed fall because everything was easy to find. New movies and books were released, there were ghost walks, and the history channel flooded me with theories behind gruesome monsters, and pagan ritual.

At the same time it’s only been within the past 5 years or so that fall is really became my favorite season. I had far more free time to enjoy the above things in the summer (or obviously school breaks). There were other things that made summer my favorite season for a long time. While that’s another entry, I’ll just say that now I don’t look at the season the same way. I know it sounds crazy but, fall became a sanctuary of sorts. I just feel better at this time of year. I’m more motivated, not as depressed, and I feel creative.

There are things that I don’t like about the season of course but that’s more to do with the people and not a direct connection to fall itself. I mean I hate leaf blowers at the ass crack of dawn. Yes apartment complex behind me, I’m looking at you. But, I know that’s the maintenance being completely idiotic. I hate that this time of year several churches in the area scream of devil worship and think that trick-or-treating is the first step on the path to hell. I hate that animal shelters won’t adopt out black cats. I hate that there have been people who abuse cats this time of year (I hate animal abusers year round, but still) in order to make the previous comment necessary. I hate that this time of year reminds certain members of my family that I’m not baptist and that in turn sets them up to begin a crusade to “save” me from my religion. So as with most things I dislike, it boils down to stupidity and close-mindedness.

~ by Last Night Here on October 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
