He really, totally is….

I’ve come to a stunning revelation. Mat Devine is a Timelord.* Yeah, I’ll just let that sink in…

Wait, What do you mean who the fuck is Mat Devine? I’ve already mentioned him in the blog once. Pay attention, jeez. Beyond that… I really don’t know how to describe his chaotic genius. So I’ll let Des (my go to person on all things Kill Hannah) tell you, “Take the smartest person you know, kick that up a couple notches, throw in equal parts ADD, misanthropy and artistry and you are about halfway to understanding Divino McMat.”

You’re missing the important part here. Fucking TIMELORD.** Also if you don’t know what a time lord is you are really reading the wrong entry. I know, you won’t just take me at my word. Good call, internet stranger, good call. But that’s fine; I have proof.

First and most obvious, The Doctor is a time traveler. So his time really isn’t equal to ours. What we see as week could be a day to him. I’ll let the Doctor explain it. “People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect… but actually, from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint, it’s more like a big ball of wibbly-wobbly… timey-wimey… stuff.”

Every Kill Hannah fan knows that Mat is definitely on his own time. There have been many documented cases of it. Lisa Humphrey (General of the KHK) even laid it out for us; “OK….I CAN announce something about New Heart. Mat let me know that they should be announcing New Heart For Xmas 8, in the next week or so. And please know that “should” is the word you all need to remember. KH time is sometimes different than the rest of the world.” Sure it looks like he’s just busy, because he’s touring, finishing a video, and ya know having a life. But it’s really just a clever ruse; he can’t let us know.

Next, let’s talk about fashion. The most recent regeneration of The Doctor loves his suspenders. Our own Mat has his suspender style.

The Doctor occasionally makes the biggest fashion mistakes ever thought of; Mat again has a perfect example of a slip-up.

When clothes just seem to be too much to handle, off comes the shirt.

I also have to mention the aliases. While we don’t know the Doctor’s true name, he is called many things. The Destroyer of Worlds, The Lonely Angel, The Wanderer, and The Lonely God are a few examples. In fact he mentions one himself, “No violence, do you understand me? Not while I’m around. Not today, not ever. I’m the Doctor, the Oncoming Storm.”

Mat seemingly has a couple names himself. We’ve already seen Divino McMat from Des; so let’s look at where he not only names himself but his companions (Yes I’ll discuss companions next). “Jack, FYI new band policy; Part I. On all KH print materials from this point forward, ‘soundcheck’ must be spelled ‘SoundCZECH’. Part II: Please start referring to all band members by our new Jersey Shore nicknames; Greg: “The Decision,” Mat “The Complication,” and Dan “The Mortician.” Pls make one up for Maddox. i’m too tired.” Sure he claims them as Jersey Shore nicknames, but don’t they feel a bit Timelord to you?

Finally we have to look at the companions. See, The Doctor is well known for them. They travel with him, provide him comfort, aid in his mischief, and help him with his tasks. They are his family. Sounds familiar doesn’t it?

I think that’s more than enough proof to support claims. Yes, Mat Devine is a Timelord; quite possibly The Doctor himself.

*- Yes I am well aware that Timelords are fictional. I’m not that unhinged yet.

**- Man, I really need someone to play dramatic music when I type in all caps… Note to self: Find someone to get on that.

***- Also, most of the above pictures are in no way mine (though the screencaps are and I did join them all). I have no idea who they belong to. If it’s yours let me know and I will credit you. And if you really want to rain on my parade I will take them down.

****- And a huge thanks to Heather and Des for helping me find quotes or just flat out giving them to me.



~ by Last Night Here on August 4, 2010.

3 Responses to “He really, totally is….”

  1. Well, I for one think you’ve proved your theory. I am converted to the belief that Mat is indeed a Timelord.

  2. HAHAHAHAHA Oh when we first joked about the possibilities of this being true I NEVER imagined this…. 😀

  3. Consider me converted. However, you forgot “Father of the Raccoons” as one of his names. Also, hasn’t he changed the spelling of his name a couple times? Obviously, this Mat Devine alias cannot be trusted. Furthermore, his complete and utter brilliance and cleverness should be brought into consideration. Have you noticed how many books this man has read, and how bizarre and widespread his tastes in music seem to be? I refer you to the fact that the Doctor cannot dance like “normal people”, and even Mat has admitted to a failure in choreographical instincts. And when one has become accustomed to using the TARDIS as a means of transportation, it would quite easily explain why they seem to have so much trouble with basic automobiles while on tour.

    I will have to consult with other Who experts, but I’m pretty sure you’re onto something. ❤

Leave a Reply

 
