Knit, Purl, Knit, Purl, Rinse, Repeat.

Reading: Punk Knits by Share Ross
Watching: Being Human
Listening to: Flogging Molly- Seven Deadly Sins
Drinking: Water wishing it was Vodka
Quote: “Properly practiced, knitting soothes the troubled spirit, and it doesn’t hurt the untroubled spirit either.” -Elizabeth Zimmermann

I mentioned yesterday that I knit. I also mentioned that I get in over my head. Knitting is not an exception to that rule. I can never seem to start on one project at a time, finish it and then move on to the next. Noooo, I just have to be surrounded by projects and my bedroom needs to look like a yarn distributor exploded. I’m an idiot.

And, not only do I have several projects going at once, I procrastinate until I stay up for days at a time finishing the project deadlines. Every Christmas since I’ve been making things for gifts is like this. I don’t sleep for three days, I knit (or sew or paint) until my skin cracks, and I finish approximately one hour before my family is scheduled to exchange gifts. You would think I’d learn my lesson by now, but here I am with 6 projects going, and every damn one of them is going to kill me.

Currently I’m working on:
A baby blanket where the baby is due in 14 days but is likely to come early.
A hat (beanie cap thing) for my niece whose birthday is today but party is next Saturday.
A Kill Hannah scarf that needs to be finished and photographed in a month and a half.
Yet another baby blanket where the kidlet is due in a month.
Two presents for friends that should have been finished and mailed out by now.

None of these things have significant progress made on them. Honestly, I don’t know when I’ll get them done or if I can. Because, I have to juggle them with other non-knitting projects (refinishing an old wooden doll house and decorating it, reading and writing a book review, and co-authoring a fantasy novel.) and fit all of that into my normal every day life of doctor appoints, chemotherapy, cooking for a household, running everyones errands, so many other household related things, and weekly meetings with Heather. Have I mentioned that I’m an idiot?

I know that I could walk away from everything. Pack my bags, get on the wrong bus and never look back; I’m physically capable of that. Emotionally, though, I’m not even close to capable. So instead I’ll keep saying yes because I can’t seem to say otherwise, and I’ll pick up my knitting.

~ by Last Night Here on August 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
